Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content




**Click here ​for GAIN Director Announcement**

Upcoming Workshops: ​ 

Check back soon...

Gateway for Accelerated Innovation in Nuclear (GAIN)

The mission of the Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy (DOE-NE) is to advance nuclear power as a resource capable of meeting the nation's energy, environmental and national security needs by resolving technical, cost, safety, proliferation resistance, and security barriers through research, development and demonstration ﴾RD&D﴿.

Accomplishing this mission will realize the enormous potential of nuclear energy and maintain the United States' historic leadership in the field. While many innovative ideas exist, the research, development and demonstration ﴾RD&D﴿ needed to bring these concepts to a commercial readiness level is traditionally lengthy and expensive.

Therefore, DOE-NE has established the Gateway for Accelerated Innovation in Nuclear (GAIN) to provide the nuclear community with access to the technical, regulatory, and financial support necessary to move innovative nuclear energy technologies toward commercialization while ensuring the continued safe, reliable, and economic operation of the existing nuclear fleet.​


Why is GAIN needed?

  • The facilities needed to conduct the necessary RD&D activities are very expensive to develop and maintain. 
  • Capabilities (e.g., facilities, expertise, materials, and data) at government sites have not been easily accessible by the entities trying to commercialize creative systems and components. 
  • Technology readiness levels vary – requiring differing research and funding opportunities.
  • Many technology developers require assistance working through the regulatory process for new nuclear technologies. 
  • Strong engagement between federal agencies, the research community, and technology developers is required to reach commercialization.

What is GAIN? 
  • GAIN provides the nuclear community with a single point of access to the broad range of capabilities -- people, facilities, materials, and data -- across the DOE complex and its National Lab capabilities.
  • Focused research opportunities and dedicated industry engagement are important components of GAIN, ensuring that DOE-sponsored activities are impactful to companies working to realize the full potential of nuclear.
  • GAIN expands upon DOE's work with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to assist technology developers through the regulatory process.
  • GAIN integrates and facilitates efforts by private industry, universities and government research institutions to test, develop and demonstrate advanced nuclear technologies to accelerate the licensing and commercialization of these systems.​




03.jpg01.jpg02.jpg7.jpgNE Voucher_COMING SOON.jpg9.jpg


​​​​Other advanced reactor innovation and opportunities:

​​ RD SUPPORT.jpg 8.jpg​​RELATED INFO.jpg

(Images from ​INL Art of Science initiative - view more HERE​)


RT @ThirdWayEnergy: Educational leaders like @AlyssaRGilbert are training the next generation of climate, energy & policy experts. #CWNYC #…
RT @TheAEIC: Lots of evidence, momentum behind using #innovation to drive economy, boost energy security & protect environment…